Tags

, , ,

The garden journal I was dreaming of last week is finally a reality!   (Minus much actual content, of course, but that will come later… )

gardenjournal3I searched stores and online, and still couldn’t settle on anything, so I decided to make my own.  It’s made from cotton paper, graph paper, and leather for a cover, hand-sewn with linen.   These were all things I already had around the house from other projects, so it was a great way to use up supplies, too!

One of the things I didn’t like about most journals is that there wasn’t much room between the covers after all the pages were in, so that if I wanted to add things like seed envelopes, receipts, photographs, etc, it would bulge very quickly.  Making my own, I was able to leave quite a bit of room in the pages for such inclusions.

gardenjournal4

I decided to use letter sized paper folded lengthwise for a slim shape.

gardenjournalSo far I’ve recorded a list of the seeds we have and included a when-to-plant chart for Kansas

gardenjournal1

gardenjournal2

gardenjournal5

Will you be keeping a garden journal?  What kind will you use?

