christmaslights christmaslights1 christmaslights2 christmaslights3 christmaslights5 christmaslights6 christmaslights7 christmaslights8 christmaslights9

I love that we celebrate light during the time of year that’s darkest–physically, and often, emotionally, and spiritually.  It’s easy, in the Christmas rush, to become focused on what we have, what we don’t have, or what we think we need, and it’s pathetic that it sometimes takes an event like Friday’s ruthless murders to remind us of what matters.  As I pray for those affected, and as I give thanks for my too-often unappreciated but truly abundant blessings, I also remember that this world is not my home…

“Thou comest in the darksome night
To make us children of the light,
To make us in the realms divine,
Like Thine own angels, round Thee shine.
Hallelujah!”
-Martin Luther, “All Praise to Thee, Eternal God”

 
