Tags

, , , , , ,

Lately, I’ve been finding my ol’ regular tomato pincushion to be a bit inconvenient.  Don’t get me wrong–it’s useful and has its place, but I’ve been doing a lot of work where I need my pins to move with me.  So, I made a pincushion I can wear on my wrist!  Here’s how…

Gather your materials:

  • Fabric: I used two kinds of linen (the Alice in Wonderland print was bought at Charlotte’s Sew Natural a few years back), but you can use just about any woven (non-stretch) material.  And some stretch material might work too!  The rectangle for your strap should be three inches wide, and the length should be that of your wrist circumference plus two and a half inches.  The circle for the cushion should measure approximately three times the diameter of your plastic lid.  The “topper” on the cushion should be the same size as your lid.
  • Plastic lid: I wanted to put something hard at the bottom of the cushion, just in case I ever get too vigorous in the poking of my pins, hehe.   A juice or milk cap works great.
  • Velcro: about one inch of it.
  • Thread and embroidery floss
  • Stuffing: (Not shown below) polyester fiberfill, natural cotton, or bamboo stuffing works well.

First, fold your strap in half lengthwise with right sides together, and stitch along the edge with seam allowance of about 3/8″.  Turn, then press.

Turn each end in about 1/2″, and press again.

Stitch your velcro to each end, catching the turned in end as you do so.  You may want to try it on as you do this to get the perfect fit.

Place the large fabric circle in the center, and stitch down securely.

Using your embroidery floss, hand baste close to the edge of the circle, gathering it up as you go.  Once you’ve made it all the way around, insert your lid, with the lip facing up like a cup.

Drawing the gathers up, stuff your cushion as tightly as you can, securing it with a knot.

Begin stitching on the topper, using any invisible or decorative stitch of your choice.

And there you have it!  Insert pins and enjoy!

