Tags

, , ,

I must confess that the idea of knitting a scarf which requires nothing more than basic knit and purl does not strike me as particularly exciting.  It’s not that I don’t like knitting scarves, it’s just that sometimes…rectangles can be monotonous.

This scarf, however, is not!! Why is it so compelling after thousands of the same stitches?

It might be the texture.  I love the way it feels, both because of the stitch pattern used, and the yarn, which is Berrocco Weekend, a blend of 75% acrylic/25% Peruvian cotton.   This is the first time I’ve used this yarn, but I am already in love with it (like so many other Berrocco products!)

It feels very substantial but soft.  And it’s machine washable, which is great, since I’m giving it as a gift.  (I don’t like to impose hand-washing on anyone who, not being a knitter, may forget and end up pulling a wad of fiber out of their washer!)

