Tags

, , ,

Several years ago, I purchased one skein of Twinkle Soft Chunky yarn, because I thought it was beautiful, and it was on sale, so I couldn’t say “no”…right?  This was back when I was still a beginning-beginner (I now consider myself an advanced-beginner…hehe.) I didn’t have any specific plans for it.  I ended up knitting a rather unimpressive hat with big tassels on the end.  And I have been left with this ever since:

While I love having yarn just lay around so I can admire it, it’s not as if I am lacking when it comes to yarn just laying around.  I wanted to do something with it but didn’t now what to do with a dozen yards of chunky yarn.  The other day, though, I suddenly realized that it looked an awful lot like roving…

The twist on this particular single-ply yarn is very loose…and I wondered if it could be drafted successfully…

And it turns out it can!  Okay.  You already know where this is going.  I finished spinning the ball this morning.  I am pretty proud of myself for figuring this out…I will set the twist Monday or Tuesday and share the results soon after that!  It’s still not a whole lot of  yarn, but I believe I could make a hat or short handwarmers or a lace trim.  We shall see.

