Tags

, , , ,

Would you please tell us a little bit about yourself?

I was a child welfare social worker by profession for 14 years and now have decided to just do my pottery.  I also have a Fine Arts Teaching Degree from the University of Northern Colorado at Greeley, Colorado.  I love my 2 grandchildren and now I have  time to spend  with them.  I am the mother of three daughters, also.  They are the lights of my life.  But my Christian Faith is my guiding force and is the driving force within me for these creations.   My Pottery  pieces are:

Divinely Inspired,

Laboriously designed,

Lovingly Created.

How did you become involved with this craft?

My pottery creations began back in 1992. I have been creating slab method pieces since then. They first began with leather looking red stoneware. With those pieces, I was able to be a craftsman in Silver Dollar City in Branson, Missouri. Then, I also was in Joyce Meyer Ministries, Christmas for Inner City children. Now, I have retired the red clay and I create inspired pottery creations out of white stoneware clay.  I can now add glorious colors to the pieces.

How would you describe your style?

My style is Victorian Vintage Brocade designs embedded on the pottery pieces, with little bowls and large serving platters being the best selling products.  I get my inspirations from various sources, as I search magazines, etc. for ideas.  I use a slab roller for the clay products.  I use various items for the background surfaces, and leather tools for some of the edge work, and stamps are used for some of the designs.

What are some of your favorite materials to work with?

I work with white stoneware clay now, which previously was a red clay from a special formula.  I mix my own glazes colors, not from scratch but my own mixtures of food safe glazes.

How do you feel about being an artist in Wichita/Kansas in general?  What are your thoughts about the arts here?

I am just now searching for a group of artists in Wichita to be able to bounce ideas around with.  I have been so busy creating and being by myself, now it’s time to reach out.  Wichita has a lot of great artists, as well as Kansas.  We are from Entrepreneurial Stock, I think, here in the heartland.  We seem to love being close to creation, and the earth with our crops, and family connections. God Bless America and especially the heart of America, Kansas and the Bible Belt Area.  Stability comes from knowing oneself and being secure and confident that all will be well.  Carpe Diem!

Where can we find you online?

Etsy Shop: catspawpottery.etsy.com

