Tags

, , , ,

Would you please tell us a little bit about yourself?

My name is Laura Reichenberger and I am the creator of Hooked On Laura. I have always loved to work with yarn! My friends and family can attest to this through the numerous scarves, hats, afghans and baby blankets that I have created for them over the years. About a year ago my sister opened up her own shop Chic Basics for Baby. Watching her business grow and seeing how much pleasure she received from owning her own business helped give me the push I needed to open up my own shop. I don’t think I would have opened it up if it wasn’t for her. Recently I have started designing my own original crochet patterns. I am proud to say that my whole Fall/Winter 2010 line is a 100% original Hooked On Laura design!

What is your craft?

I create handmade crochet accessories for all ages, and my newest addition to my shop are my fun shaped Crayon Scribblers.


How did you become involved with these crafts?

I learned to crochet at a very young age watching my grandma. I was mesmerized by her quick fingers and ability to create gorgeous items out of mere yarn. Crochet started off as a hobby for me. When a family member had a baby or Christmas was approaching I would get out my yarn and make them a fabulous handmade gift. This year for Christmas I was struggling to find the perfect gift for all the little ones in my family and so Crayon Scribblers were born! They have been a huge hit in my family, and I hope yours will find as much enjoyment in them as mine does.

How would you describe your style?

My style is classic with a splash of modern.

Who or what inspires you?

I am inspired by everyone and everything around me. Most of my designs originate when I am looking for the perfect gift idea.

What are some of your favorite materials to work with?

Can’t beat yarn and a crochet hook.

Where can we find you online?

You can find me on Etsy:  www.etsy.com/shop/HookedOnLaura and Facebook: www.facebook.com/pages/Hooked-On-Laura/148735778493987

How do you feel about being an artist in Wichita?

Growing up in Kansas I’ve been able to create handmade crochet accessories that aren’t only practical for the cold winters but are also stylish and fun!

