Tags

, , ,

A small experiment in tea-dying: What I gathered from the few articles I did find about tea dying, one should actually simmer the tea with the wool already in the pot.  All I did was add the wool to hot tea (or coffee, in one case).  I wanted to see what this method would yield, and the result is a number of weak, though pleasant, washes of color.  I like these results but will have to do something different if I want something darker.  These are from used tea bags, with the exception of the last one.

  1. For comparison, this is the wool I used with no dye.  It a cream color with the slightest yellowish tint.
  2. Green tea from a used bag, 1 hour and 15 minute soak time.
  3. Twinings Chai, used bag, 30 minutes soaking.
  4. Twinings Irish Breakfast tea, used bag, 20 minutes.
  5. Used coffee grounds, 50 minutes.
  6. Twinings Irish Breakfast tea again; this was new bag, and was soaked for 2 hours.



