Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

In the next few weeks (or possibly longer) I plan on showcasing artists from Kansas, particularly the Wichita area.  This week’s interview is with Sweet Treats Shop, a truly sweet little line featuring crocheted, sewn, and upcycled goods, including lovely glass cake stands.  She not only sells online, but you can also check out her wares in person at The Onion Tree!

Would you please tell us a little bit about yourself?

I am a married stay at home mom of 5.  I am Buddhist, my husband is Muslim and I was raised as a Christian.  I enjoy most being with my husband and children.  I do not like the cold weather.  I wish it would be early summer, when it’s not super hot, all year long!  We do not have any animals, but my favorite pet was our duck, Doodle, (who passed away when a ravenous possum attacked her!)

How did you become involved with craft?

I have always wanted to be creative, so during my last pregnancy, I prayed and opened my heart, asking for creativity.  You see, I was so bored on partial bed rest, and you can only watch so much tv!  I had crocheted and learned many

things as a child with my grandmother, so I decided to go get  some books from the library to relearn.  From there, my creative juices just started going!  I also really like the Earth, therefore, I like to re-use and re-purpose items.  I love to crochet, sew and also making new things out of old, like the cake plates I make.


How would you describe your style?

Hmmm, my style, I guess I would say things that I find beautiful.  I love classic styles and lines.  I like minimal  and romantic.  Is that possible? Not sure what you would call that.  I guess I’m the stereo typical, eclectic. Haha.  It is nearly impossible for me to follow directions.  I can’t follow a recipe or a pattern without making alterations for it.  Therefore, my designs are for the most part, free-hand.  I may use a pattern as a guide but I never follow anything completely.

Who or what inspires you?

I am inspired by nature, whether it be an animal that I want to create a hat after or beautiful flowers and the Ocean.  I love water.  All of my children inspire me, their personalities are all so different and each has so much to offer.  My oldest daughter is so artistic and talented already, I ask her for opinions often.

What are some of your favorite materials to work with?

I love bamboo yarn.  That is probably my favorite.  I also love cotton yarn and cotton fabrics.

 

How do you feel about being an artist in Wichita/Kansas in general?

I was born in Seattle, but have been here since I was 4.  As a kid, I tended to say it’s so boring here, I think cause everyone else did, but as an adult, I truly enjoy it here.  I think the arts are the best kept secret in Wichita.  There is such a community here and I wish there was more of a following for local artists.  I am learning so much just through creating and seeing how many others create here, it is very inspirational and humbling to see such amazing talent.

Where can we find you online? (twitter, blog, flickr, etc)

Etsy:  SweetTreatsShop.etsy.com
Facebook:  facebook.com/sweettreatsshop

